Re-posted on 5/24/19
What To Do After A Car Accident
An accident can leave your head spinning, no matter how minor it is. The actions that you take in the moments following a collision are important for ensuring that the situation is resolved as quickly and fairly as possible. In some cases, filing a police report is an essential part of settling a claim, especially if you or the other driver will be seeking compensation for damage to a vehicle.
First Things First: Exchanging Information
If you are in a collision in Las Vegas, Nevada, then you’re required to give the other driver(s) certain information, and they’re required to share their information with you. Depending on the extent of the accident, it may also be wise to gather contact information for any witnesses, as you might need them to testify in court regarding the accident. Key information that should be exchanged includes:
♦ Names, home address, and contact information
♦ License plate numbers
♦ Auto insurance information (the insurer, the policy number, and the expiration date on the insurance card)
♦ Driver’s license numbers
It’s also a good idea to snap a few quick photos of the accident and the damage that it caused to your vehicle.
Calling the Police After an Accident
Unless the accident is very minor (no one is injured, no one’s car sustained any damage, and everyone agrees to laugh it off and be on their away), then Nevada state law requires that you report the accident to the police. The police will come out and conduct and investigation, and then they’ll prepare a police report. During the investigation, they’ll likely check to see if anyone is intoxicated or otherwise impaired by alcohol or drugs. If any laws were violated by you or the other driver, a citation may be given. You’ll be able to get a copy of the police report, which you can pass along to your insurance company to aid in settling the claim.
What If the Police Don’t Come?
In Las Vegas, Nevada, the police are required to respond to most accidents. If, for some reason, you call in an accident and they choose not to respond, then state law requires that you fill out a form through the DMV. This form should be submitted within 10 days of the accident if it resulted in any bodily injury, a fatality, or more than $750 of property damage.
Keep in mind that injuries sustained in an accident may not always be immediately obvious. Back and neck pain may not be felt until the next day (or even longer) after an accident, and what appears to be minor damage can end up costing far more than expected. For this reason, it’s generally a good idea to fill out a report for the DMV, even if damage appears to be minor.
Getting in Touch with Your Insurance Agent
After you’ve spoken to the police, the next person to call is your auto insurance agent. They will help you navigate the next steps in the process of filing and settling a claim.
Read More: Auto Insurance in Las Vegas, Nevada
Call us for assistance
Serving Las Vegas, Henderson, North Las Vegas and the entire state of Nevada
DISCLAIMER: It is important to note that the information contained herein is made general for the purpose of explanation. You should consult your policy for exclusions or other language that may alter your policy.